Poetry

The Monster in Your Dreams

I am the monster of your lucid dreams,

the one you practice slaying

for this side of consciousness.

Every night you lay down dreaming,

and happy dreams go through your mind.

And every night I feel the words you say

in dreaming

stab right through me

and feel the dagger of your smile

when we cross paths the next day.

One thought on “The Monster in Your Dreams

  1. Ouch! Last night I had a very bad dream and someone who has only caused me pain appeared in the nightmare. “Words you say. . stab right through me,” this imagery gets to the core of what this someone has done to me with cruel words. . .the pain still lingers and affects me. This person appeared in the nightmare in the shadows. . .Interesting that I should come across your poem.
    You are an amazing poet and have a way of capturing emotions.
    Thanks for sharing your writing.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.